The Wincott Awards 2015

by Emily B

The annual Wincott awards lunch was held in The Old Ballroom of The Mansion House in the City of London, in the presence of Alderman Sir Alan Yarrow, Lord Mayor Locum Tenens. Following welcoming remarks from Sir Alan and Wincott Foundation Chairman Sir Richard Lambert, Sir Nicholas Macpherson, former Permanent Secretary of HM Treasury, addressed an audience comprising the award finalists and their guests and a number of business and public sector leaders.

The winners were:

Wincott Lifetime Achievement Award – Sir Geoffrey Owen

Sir Geoffrey Owen

The Trustees of The Wincott Foundation decided this year to recognise the many achievements of Sir Geoffrey Owen with their Lifetime Achievement Award. The Foundation has only made this award once before – to Sir Samuel Brittan, in 2013. Sir Richard Lambert, Chairman of the Foundation, made the presentation. 

Wincott Financial Journalist of the Year – John Gapper, Chief Business Commentator, Financial Times

John Gapper, Elizabeth Wincott-Heckett and Sir Richard Lambert

The judges said: “John Gapper ranges across the whole of world business and in 2015 his sure-footed straight-talking and wit were applied to Big Pharma, the crises at Volkswagen and Glencore and shifting patterns in Silicon Valley, to name but a few. As one judge put it, ‘He is always capable of surprising you’.”

Personal Finance Journalist of the Year – BBC Radio 4 Moneybox, ‘Financial Crime Online and On The Line.’

Paul Lewis, Elizabeth Wincott-Heckett and Sir Richard Lambert

The judges said: “Money Box presented a penetrating analysis of how cold-callers winkle out bank details and passwords from their victims. The programme’s use of recorded telephone conversations between scammer and victim, interspersed with explanations of what was going on, brought the subject to life and set out in memorable style clear guidance for consumers on how to avoid becoming a victim.”

Young Journalist of the Year – Harriett Russell, Investors Chronicle

Harriett Russell, Elizabeth Wincott-Heckett and Sir Richard Lambert

The judges said: “Harriet Russell of the Investors Chronicle provided meticulous and crystal clear explanations of sometimes very complicated investment categories, particularly in the bio-medical sphere. The judges liked very much the ambition of her work – particularly impressive in a young journalist.”

Radio Journalism of the Year – BBC Radio 4, ‘Company v Country.’

Michael Robinson, Elizabeth Wincott-Heckett, Rosamund Jones and Sir Richard Lambert

The judges said: “a tightly argued and thoughtful treatment of the handling of disputes between companies and governments. In other hands, this might have been dull, but in the hands of Robinson, the listener was involved in the analysis of an important aspect of international trade.”

TV Journalism of the Year – Channel 4 News/ITN, ‘Where Food Comes From.’

Job Rabkin, Andy Lee, Elizabeth Wincott-Heckett, Siobhan Kennedy and Sir Richard Lambert

The judges said: “Channel 4 News took on a story about labour conditions in the supermarket fruit and vegetable packing supply chain, where an undercover reporter worked with Business Editor Siobhan Kennedy to lay out a charge sheet of appalling working conditions which resulted in an immediate response from the supermarkets involved.”

You may also like